Fairview Park Primary School

Learning and Curriculum

Australian government schools work with a national curriculum called the Australian Curriculum. Preschools work with the Early Years Framework.

Australian Curriculum - General Capabilities

Twenty-first century learning does not fit neatly into a curriculum solely organised by learning areas or subjects. That is why the Australian Curriculum has identified a comprehensive set of knowledge, skills and dispositions or general capabilities that will assist students to live and work successfully in the twenty-first century.

The Shape of the Australian Curriculum v8.3 identifies seven general capabilities to be addressed in the Australian Curriculum. These are:
- Literacy
- Numeracy
- Information and communication technology capability
- Critical and Creative Thinking
- Personal and social capability
- Ethical Understanding
- Intercultural Understanding

Learning Areas

The key elements of the Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum learning areas or subjects are achievements standards and content descriptions. These are presented with other learning area or subject information including year-level descriptions, rationale, aims, key ideas, structure and representation of general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities.

Each learning area or subject of the Australian Curriculum is presented as a sequence of learning (content descriptions and achievement standards) over time. The organisation varies to reflect the particular learning area including the specificity of evidence-based teaching sequence, its priority for teaching time and the need for flexibility to assist schools in planning and programming. English and Mathematics are specified at each year level from Foundation - Year 10. Some aspects of Science, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Health and Physical Education are specified at a year level; and other aspects, at two- or three-year bands. The Arts, Technologies and Languages are specified at two- or three-year bands.

Year level descriptions and/or band descriptions assist teachers by providing important information about the learning contexts that apply to the content descriptions and achievement standards at a particular year or band of years

The learning areas of English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education comprise a single subject. The learning areas of Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages each comprise multiple subjects. This reflects the custom and practice of each discipline.

More information can be found on the ACARA website.